PDA

View Full Version : Hi im new!

surge82
12th March 2013, 10:47 AM
HI all,

Hey my name is Sergio and i am from sydney, and im just getting into wood turning. I purchased a Carba Tec economy mini lathe two weeks ago and i cant get away from it, here is a picture of my lathe, and a few of the projects that i have already made, a big thanks to bassmansimon for getting me into wood turning!!

Christos
12th March 2013, 12:10 PM
Welcome to the forum. It can be quite enjoyable when making something.

tdrumnut
12th March 2013, 12:24 PM
Gidday Sergio welcome to the forum, enjoy your stay.

Rumnut

pommyphil
12th March 2013, 12:53 PM
Welcome :) Watch 's Safety videos, learn to sharpen, and keep practicing

Phil.

Drillit
12th March 2013, 01:46 PM
Hello Sergio,
Well done first-up. You will no doubt continue to improve, become obsessive/compulsive about wood left on verges,
have a keen ear for a nearby chainsaw - more wood and accumulate many tools over a period of time. I agree that
's videos are very instructive as is the help you will get on this Forum. My only other comments are that
you join a woodturning group and take some formal lessons. In relation to the latter, Trend Timbers at Mulgrave, for one,
provide good teaching through John Ewart. While John is a good friend, I have no commercial interest with
Trend. They have a website. Drillit.

smiife
12th March 2013, 07:45 PM
hi sergio,

WARNING ...WOOD TURNING IS ADDICTIVE
BE CAREFUL YOU COULD GET HOOKED
just joking :U
welcome to the forum
cheers smiife:2tsup:

mkypenturner
12th March 2013, 11:11 PM
hi and welcome to the forum and the addiction nice work , pratice pratice pratice we all gotta do that

dr4g0nfly
13th March 2013, 07:55 AM
We all started where you are, looking forward to the future pics of your work as you develop.

TTIT
13th March 2013, 09:59 PM
Good to have you aboard Sergio :cool: Soak up as much as you can from this forum and you'll be turning out masterpieces in no time :; :U

surge82