PDA

View Full Version : fishing platform???

cookyboy
1st May 2005, 01:53 PM
greetings. I seek ideas http://www.woodworkforums.ubeaut.com.au/images/icons/icon3.gif. I am no expert but not altogether useles & have triton 2000 and basic equipment. I have got ten strips of waterproof ply 5mm x 2400 x 300 mm & I want to build a fold up fishing platform folds bow to stern to form box to hold similar outriger - a box in a box -and decking [mabe rolled slat & stap] am I making any sense ? cooky

Daddles
1st May 2005, 03:15 PM
I'm a bit confused as to what you want and why you think this is a good thing.

Are you looking at building a square, collapsable raft? With outrigger?

Why? Collapsable suggests you'll be transporting it which means that when you get to the water, you need to be able to move it to the desired position - easily.

Wouldn't a boat be better? They don't have to be difficult or expensive - hell, plans for a Mouseboat are free, they use a sheet and a half of ply and work a treat - no, you won't stand in it but lots of them (including ours) are used for fishing. But there are other designs.

Your strips, of 'waterproof' ply, can be used to build even a flat bottomed boat. Be warned though, unless it's marine ply, it may not last as well as you think - waterproof for housebuilding is a different thing to being able to live in water (which is why they invented paint).

But, if you're determined to do this thing, build square pontoons and use your decking to hold it all together. Dunno that the outrigger is going to do much except get in the way.

Cheers
Richard

cookyboy
2nd May 2005, 12:36 PM
Richard. thanks for your imput. I know this may sound strange but the idea is to make a boat that can be folded to fit on my mountain bike trailer:o & not be too long or ungainly. The pontoon is desirable 'cause I sometimes hook fish that are big and scary and I don't like to end up in thier "personal space"!!!:( gordo.

Daddles
2nd May 2005, 01:09 PM