PDA

View Full Version : Live centre systems?

nz_carver
29th April 2013, 12:33 AM
After upgrading my drive centres to sorby steb centres
adding a sixty Degree' live centre and a woodfast heavy duty cup centre.
I'm looking in to a live centre system,
Nova,Stubby,Vermec , Sorby who's using what?
And what do you think of them?
The good the bad the just don't buy???

dennisk
29th April 2013, 01:33 AM
I am using the Oneway on the Titan and had one for the old Wadkin as well, and it seems to work well for me. They are readily available here as well and I never really looked at anything else, but have nothing to complain about.

China
29th April 2013, 03:11 AM
I have been using Woofast live centre for 40+ years, never have even had a hint of trouble

dr4g0nfly
29th April 2013, 03:40 AM
NZ,

If you do that much work between centres I'd suggest you look at a pair of Matched Ring Centres.

They are great for reversing a spindle and knowing that the alignment will be spot on.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
29th April 2013, 12:45 PM
I like the Nova system, never had a problem with mine.

Although - if I recall correctly - Grumpy John really didn't like the quality of machining on his... (I think this is a before- & after-China thing.)

Big Shed
29th April 2013, 12:51 PM
I use the Sorby revolving centre set and really like it, it gives me lots of options.

It gets used on both my wood lathe and my metal lathe.

Seriously thinking about getting a second set.

It is much smaller in diameter than the standard live centres and doesn't get in the the way as much.

I don't whether the Nova system has improved, but when I was in the market I took one look at it at Carbatec and put it back on the shelf, an impression later reinforced by Grumpy John's experience.

Some more opinions here (http://www.woodworkforums.com/f8/live-centre-sets-116136/).

nz_carver
29th April 2013, 02:56 PM
Thanks for that Fred I use Robert Sorby steb centres so I'd say I might get the Sorby one.