PDA

View Full Version : Lathe motor lost its grunt

orraloon
15th May 2013, 08:58 PM
Hi,
My lathe motor has lost its torque. It is a 1hp induction motor and today while roughing a small bowl blank anout 8'' dia it would stall while taking very modest cuts. I have done largish turnings up to about 16'' on this with no problems before.
The motor spins up ok, was not hot and the headstock bearings were not even warm. Not being an electrical expert I am asking for some advise. Motor is about 5 years old and estimated hours around 2,000.

Regards
John

issatree
15th May 2013, 09:09 PM
Hi John,
How is your belt for tightness, & what Lathe is being driven by it.
I had the same thing many yrs ago & I Applied for Insurance & I ended up with a new motor.

DJ’s Timber
15th May 2013, 09:14 PM
:whs: check your drive belt before doing anything else. A slack belt matches your symptoms.

orraloon
15th May 2013, 10:42 PM
As soon as I had posted the question I had a nagging instinct to check the belt. You guys have confirmed that feeling. Ill do that tomorrow and get back with the result.
Regards
John

chuck1
16th May 2013, 02:00 PM
my drill press did a similar thing the belts were ok and it turned out to be the capacitor was on the way out but there was sparks comming off the motor.
it would spin up to speed but soon as any load was put on it it would clagg out! it was a cheap fix thanks to my mate

orraloon
16th May 2013, 04:34 PM