PDA

View Full Version : HAFCO wl-18? Should i buy?

SquidLYF
16th May 2013, 06:46 PM
Hey all! Im pretty new to woodturning and i'm looking to get a new lathe without breaking the bank! I've found a second hand HAFCO WL-18 for sale online in my general area and i'm wondering if these lathes are any good? and if i ask to go have a look before buying, is there anything in particular to look out for on used machinery/lathes? Thanks heaps! Max.:U

DaveTTC
16th May 2013, 07:28 PM
I have a Hafco.

Check the head and tail stock line up. If it is a model with a rotating head check it stays aligned after running.

I'm sure others will chime in with more useful tips. Hopefully it comes with chisels etc.

SquidLYF
16th May 2013, 07:56 PM
thanks Dave will do!

Sturdee
16th May 2013, 08:16 PM
I, like many other forumnites, have one.They are a great first lathe but may need tweaking to get it right. There are some posts on the forum about them, a search should find them.

The downfall is the stand, it is flimsy and need to be reinforced or like I have bolted to a bench.

Apart from the alignment of the headstock to the tailstock, make sure that the variable speed change works smoothly. This should only be done whilst the lathe is running.Also check that the toolrest and tailstock slide smoothly and that the lathe bed is
parallel.

Peter.

SquidLYF
16th May 2013, 08:37 PM
Thanks Peter ill keep that in mind!
Now forgive my ignorance but how does one go about checking such alignments? Is it as simple bringing the tailstock centre up to meet the drive centre and making sure they meet central to one another?
And with checking the bed for parallel i'm guessing thats pretty easy with the use of a clean, trusty straight-edge yes? Cheers, Max.

DaveTTC
16th May 2013, 08:58 PM