PDA

View Full Version : Is this any good?

Evanism
23rd June 2013, 11:04 PM
There seems to be a new lathe at H+F called the Record Power dml36s selling for $428

https://www.machineryhouse.com.au/R800

I'm an absolute beginner but can see myself easily using it a lot over the years.... So I need to balance good vs cost.

I'm getting a new one as every second handie I've found is seriously in need of work or simply somewhere that won't ship. Being in Canberra the 2nd hand market is quite small.

There are a few mini and midi ones around, but they almost all have one deliberate deficiency or another to force you up the value chain.....which I can't really afford!

So, is this any good?

RETIRED
23rd June 2013, 11:45 PM
Nope.

Elaborating.

It has #1morse tapers. Hard to get normal accessories.

The 3/4 x 16 spindle nose limits other accessories. The standard is 30x3 in Australia.

Twin bed bars will limit fitting jigs to it without a lot of trouble.

Motor is too small for that size lathe.

Speed range is too high for size of bowl that can be turned.

Sorry.:C

turnerted
24th June 2013, 05:09 PM
Evanism
Go and visit your local woodturning club and see what they are using then you will have a much better idear of what to look for.
Ted

Evanism
24th June 2013, 05:32 PM
I've purchased a great deal of gear with recommendations from this fabulous group of forumites.

:)

There are the rather nice looking mini and midi lathes from Carbatec and H+F. Each makes a very nice looking lathe but as per my first post and those recommendations AGAINST the English one, I keep running into brick walls.

Every time I see one that I might like, there's a blockage... Wrong morse taper, bed too low, rickety, underpowered.... You know the list!

Perhaps the fine men and women of the forum can guide me?