PDA

View Full Version : CBN for Tormek

greyhound
5th September 2013, 02:41 PM
Has anyone fitted a CBN wheel to a tormek?
Do you need to true up this type of wheel?
My current standard wet wheel requires dressing and truing up regularly which is a time consuming process and would rather spend the time turning
Any information would be welcomed.

turnerted
5th September 2013, 05:34 PM
I don't know about fitting a CBN to a Tormec but I have been using my CBN grinder for about 2 years now and have never even wiped the suface down and it still sharpens like new.Fantastic.
Ted

RETIRED
5th September 2013, 05:48 PM
Has anyone fitted a CBN wheel to a tormek? Not as far as I know but there is one in the wings I believe.
Do you need to true up this type of wheel? No.
My current standard wet wheel requires dressing and truing up regularly which is a time consuming process and would rather spend the time turning
Any information would be welcomed.You won't be disappointed.

Jim Carroll
5th September 2013, 06:09 PM
Just fitted one to my Tormek and runs true , no need for any mucking about.

Woodcut CBN here (http://www.cws.au.com/shop/item/woodcut-cbn-wheel-250mm-x-40mm-x-180g)

delbs
5th September 2013, 06:37 PM
That in my opinion after seeing use the Cbn would be a perfect sharpening system installed on a tormek :) very nice!

nosnow
5th September 2013, 06:48 PM
Just fitted one to my Tormek and runs true , no need for any mucking about.

Woodcut CBN here (http://www.cws.au.com/shop/item/woodcut-cbn-wheel-250mm-x-40mm-x-180g)

Hi Jim
do you still need to use water with it
Cheers
Rod

Jim Carroll
5th September 2013, 08:41 PM
Have been using it with the water as the wheel is nickle plated, also helsp move the slury to the base so no metal sticking to the wheel.

Will give it a big workout this weekend at the Phillip Island Down Under Turnaround

delbs
5th September 2013, 08:44 PM
Would the CBN fit on a scheppach grinder? I don't think they use a weird sized shaft.

Jim Carroll