PDA

View Full Version : turning practice!!

M.cedro
1st January 2014, 08:22 PM
hey guys i have a quick question to ask. im fairly new to woodturning and was wondering is it worth buying bags of redgum firewood to practice on? ive also sourced a few green logs which i have now. where would be best place to find greenwood? i live in northern suburbs of melbourne so a bit hard to find stuff lying around?

thanks

steamingbill
1st January 2014, 10:36 PM
Hello,

I have practised on freebies from local rubbish dump ( they like to call themselves a transfer station) - lots of pine pallets there

Bill

nalmo
2nd January 2014, 09:16 AM
My friends are always on the lookout for trees being cut down.
I regularly get calls when they see some - the trick is to get there as quickly as possible.
Pieces left on front nature strips often disappear in under 24 hours.

Treecycle
2nd January 2014, 09:25 AM
Do you have friends or rellies that have mature fruit trees? Sometimes a branch will die on an older tree and wood from fruit trees is a dream to turn.
Are you wanting to practice spindle or faceplate turning, or both?
I know that when you first start turning you think where do I get enough wood to turn from, but after a while when people start to know you turn, it will be offered to you in abundance. Wood clubs are also a good source of wood if you join one, as you have a collective of members who usually get free wood offered to them.

issatree
2nd January 2014, 09:57 AM
Hi M.credo,
As Dallas said, there is an abundance of Wood layinging on the ground. Sometimes in a Paddock. If so go & ask if you can have some.
Never take to much as you will find out, you will have a mountain of Wood in the blink of the eye.
I wood keep the Red Gum for future Projects, & don't Practice, do a small Project, or many of the same thing, to get your hand in.

Rod Gilbert
2nd January 2014, 10:07 AM