PDA

View Full Version : G'day from Canberra

MrEd
14th January 2014, 03:45 PM
Hi all

Im a complete novice with woodwork, havent done any since highschool back in the 90s. Im currently having a go at building an electric guitar at the moment, first attempt is just using a kit so Im only really doing the finishing and assembly myself, hopefully in the future I'll setup a little workshop and make one from scratch though.

I muck around with cars and bike and various little things, work in construction (in the office though) and generally like to have a go at technical things myself.

I joined up here because Ive been tearing my hair out trying to find some decent info on how to do a particular finish on my guitar, googling/etc has eventually led me here.

I'll make a thread with some pics of my guitar project later tonight, in the meantime I'll check out a few projects by other people. :)

crowie
14th January 2014, 04:19 PM
G'Day & Welcome to a top forum "Ed".
There are quite a few members in and around Canberra.....
You'll find a heap of helpful & knowledgeable blokes & ladies on the forum and for most very willing to assist.
Make sure you show off your handiwork as everyone loves a photo, especially WIP [Work In Progress] photos with build notes.
Enjoy the forum.
Enjoy your woodwork...
Cheers crowie

old1955
14th January 2014, 07:32 PM
Welcome to the forum.

JJF
15th January 2014, 05:36 AM
welcome aboard

tdrumnut
15th January 2014, 10:05 PM
Gidday & welcome aboard Ed, may your journey with us be a pleasant one.

Christos
16th January 2014, 08:30 AM
Welcome to the forum.

Evanism
16th January 2014, 08:57 AM
There are heaps of woodworkers from Canberra here.

Most are quiet, but there are a vocal minority :)

Btw, everyone will ask for pictures. They are obsessed.

MrEd
16th January 2014, 09:06 AM
I put some pics up in this thread: http://www.woodworkforums.com/f98/gibson-lp-kit-build-180902/