PDA

View Full Version : New lathe selection

markdem
7th February 2014, 04:29 PM
Good day.
I have a dilemma. I need to choses between the following two lathes (Vicmarc VL200 and a woodfast M910 incase the links don't work)
Vicmarc - Wood Lathes, Chucks, Jaws and Accessories - VL200 SM 6 Speed (http://www.vicmarc.com/default.asp?contentID=532)
W685 | M910 Heavy Duty Wood Lathe | machineryhouse.com.au (http://www.machineryhouse.com.au/W685)

Both are great lathes but I just can't make up my mind. The woodfast has a bigger swing and a outboard attachment, but the vicmarc is a vicmarc and it is blue :)

Anyone care to help me out?

Thanks

powderpost
7th February 2014, 04:54 PM
I have been using Woodfast lathes for more than 30 years and am perfectly happy with them. Really comes down to the ford/holden type discussion.
Jim

nz_carver
7th February 2014, 05:36 PM
Vicmarc hands down it's made in Australia
There after sales service is grate and so is the service from CWS

pommyphil
7th February 2014, 07:15 PM
Vicmarc, without a moments hesitation.

Tim the Timber Turner
7th February 2014, 07:46 PM
I always say "If you want to buy your last lathe, buy a Vicmarc".:2tsup:

You are supporting Australian jobs when you buy Vicmarc.

Cheers
Tim:)

Jim Carroll
7th February 2014, 08:46 PM
Blue is a very nice color

Nuff said

fozz
7th February 2014, 08:57 PM
In the beginning there was Vicmarc and Woodfast but the last word in Australian woodlathes just has to be...Omega :2tsup::wink::U

Pat
7th February 2014, 08:58 PM
Yellow is a good colour too, another vote for the M910. I've had mine for the past 4 years. 520mm inboard, 700mm outboard with auxiliary table, 2000mm outboard with a outboard tool rest. :q:q:q:q:q

Service from the boys at Woodfast is great.

Holden vs Ford, is the correct interpretation.

chuck1
7th February 2014, 10:04 PM