PDA

View Full Version : Workbench legs and rails

Clinton1
12th June 2005, 01:47 AM
As a newbie to the forum, apologies if this question has been dealt with before:
I get the need for a reasonably dense wood for a workbench top, however could I use a cypress for the legs/rails?
Any advice/thoughts gratefully rx

Bruce Micheal
12th June 2005, 06:43 AM
Clinton

I'm not an expert, but I have a work bench with cypress legs and rails (75 x 50). The top is also cypress (75 x 50 laminated on the 75 side). Make sure your timber is well seasoned or it could move, bend twist etc, cypress is well known for this.

regards :)

Gumby
12th June 2005, 10:17 AM
There's been lots of talk about the use of old oregon in the forums recently. have a whole bench made out of it. Legs, rails and top. It's 20 years old and very strong and stable. I agree that thge cypress could be a problem with movement. To get the old oregon into shape, you'd need a thicknesser and ideally , a jointer as well. Not sure if you have those but if you could source some old timber, that's the ideal.

Tops can also be done using a solid core door. If you check the local door suppliers, sometimes they have 'seconds' which have got marks in them or been damaged. They would be cheap and make excellent bench tops.

DPB
12th June 2005, 10:33 AM
To get the old oregon into shape, you'd need a thicknesser and ideally , a jointer as well. Gumby, I'd put this the other way around. Ideally, you need a jointer and secondly, a thicknesser.

I think the idea of purchasing a thicknesser first then a jointer is bass-akwards. :D

bitingmidge
12th June 2005, 11:04 AM
I reckon you can use anything for anypart of any bench!

The only job the legs do is: they keep the top from hitting the floor, so within reason make them of any material. Cypress studs hold up whole houses, a little workbench won't even be a challenge for them!

cheers,

P

JDarvall
12th June 2005, 03:12 PM