PDA

View Full Version : Steel Frame V Timber Frame

Ree
15th June 2005, 11:15 AM
we live 300m from the beach, in termite heaven. we have already had trouble with the little blighters, and so were thinking of steel framing in our extension. however we have been told that it would rust in the salty air we have here. any pearls of wisdom would be greatly appreciated, as I am new to all this reno business.

silentC
15th June 2005, 11:48 AM
The steel frames are galvanised plus they are sealed inside the cavity. They might rust where they have been cut though. I'd contact a manufacturer and see what gaurantees they give on the galvanising under your conditions. It doesn't last forever.

Maybe you'd be better with a treated timber frame? We're about to build in termite country and that's what we'll be using. Best thing I reckon is to concentrate on keeping them out. We got a quote on Termimesh for the piers and perimeter - about $2500 for a 36 square house. Might be slightly cheaper on a slab but you've got pipe penetrations there as well.

Looked at the steel frames but it seems too much trouble to me. All your electrical and possibly your plumbing has to have grommets fitted where it penetrates a frame member. Everything has to be screwed - no nails. Not a big deal but for me I'd rather bang in a nail than counter sink, screw and fill everything.

Ashore
15th June 2005, 12:04 PM
If you do go with steel a tin of cold gal used liberaly on any cut or bared steel will help, though I wouldn't suggest you do this ar the end of the framing , but as soon as you can on the bare metal ,

The trouble with life is there's no background music.

aussiecolector
15th June 2005, 12:12 PM
Cypress pine will keep the termites at bay in the frame at least. If they get in they will still eat the trims etc.

Wombat2
15th June 2005, 05:49 PM