PDA

View Full Version : Help please!

Martsmodels
20th June 2005, 01:55 AM
Hi all - I'm new to this medium although I have dabbled in it a long time ago.
In this case I'm using marquetry to detail the dashboard and door cappings of a car model. I have obtained the veneer some of which is straight cut grain and some burr. However the burr is very uneven and looks warped - I cannot see even one square inch which is flat. How do I overcome this? Or do I send it back?

Any help appreciated - thanks

Martin

http://martsmodels.photosite.com/

powderpost
20th June 2005, 11:19 PM
G'day Martin, the burl veneer is seldom nice and flat. This is caused by the drying process of the very irregular grain. Normally this does not create a problem. I am assuming you are gluing to a curved surface. Immediately prior to gluing up, very lightly spray the veneer with a very fine mist spray of water. Use a bag of fine sand as a caul and press the job into the bag of sand. Would suggest you do a dummy run with a similar shape and some cheap veneer first.
Jim

Martsmodels
21st June 2005, 09:18 AM
Thanks Jim - I somehow couldn't imagine the supplier putting something that they knew to be faulty in the package so your explanation of the burr makes sense now. There will be a slight curve and as the dashboard is only about 4 inches long there's no problem of wastage - I have about 2 square feet of the darned stuff!! Enough for a lifetime!

Hopefully it should look something like the att pic.

Will keep you posted. Martin

steve54123alt
21st June 2005, 11:47 AM
I find the sand packing difficult to get my head around, what i have done in the past in the day before you want to glue the veneer is to spray with water and place in a press, (two flat boards will do, place paper on either side to absorb some water and clamp) allow to dry over night and fingers crossed you will have a flater burl then before.

Martsmodels
21st June 2005, 11:44 PM