PDA

View Full Version : MC 900 Banjo

Babytoolman
20th June 2005, 09:20 AM
Hi All,
I have a problem with my MC 900 Banjo. The tightening mechanisim keeps slidding out and dropping the bolt and nut out. I tightened the grub screw but that then makes it dificult to turn the handle. I thought it may be my banjo is faulty because it doesnt have a reces for the grub screw.
I am looking for advice as to what i may be able to do?

Thanks.

adrian
20th June 2005, 09:58 AM
You're not alone. I think it's one of the design faults that a few are experiencing. Headstock, tailstock and tool rest all have problems with the tightening mechanism. I was going to post a query as to whether there was an after market replacement.

Tornatus
21st June 2005, 01:32 AM
G'day

I'm a newbie who has been lurking around this forum for some time, but I have finally been inspired to post by this mention of the dreaded MC900 banjo. I have followed many of the excellent suggestions on the forum for cleaning, tuning and tweaking the MC900, and I'm pretty happy with mine overall, but that banjo is a right bastard. It just will not move freely or tighten properly, no matter how much you fiddle with the locking mechanism.

Like Adrian, I have often wondered if there is an aftermarket alternative available, or whether you can use a better design from a different brand lathe, or whether anyone has fabricated a replacement from scratch. Ideas/suggestions, anyone?

gatiep
21st June 2005, 02:06 AM
Replace the nut that holds the plate that locks onto the bed with a Nyloc and then tweak it to slide smoothly.

Make sure you have a good circlip on the locking rod, opposite the locking handle end on the banjo.

Check that the cam lock shaft is straight and therefore locking properly. With 'abuse' ( for lack of a better word ) the actual shaft can bend, then the banjo will not tighten securely on the bed but feel spongy.