PDA

View Full Version : How are gable finials attached?

rossnroller
5th September 2014, 01:23 PM
Hi folks.

We have an old federation style house with a finial on the gable at the front. The finial has developed a sideways lean and looks like it is in danger of falling off. I'm not good with heights, so haven't been up there to check it out close-hand. With binoculars, I can see that it has come apart from the gable except for an area of remaining contact at the base, but I can't see how it is fitted on to the gable. There are no bolts in sight.

Could someone please explain how these old finials are attached to the gable, and how to restore a leaning one to vertical position? Is it possible there has been some rotting of wood in the area of the join/socket/whatever - sorta looks like this could be the case, although the finial itself seems solid, and just in need of some paint.

Cheers!
Ross

Simplicity
5th September 2014, 01:42 PM
Sorry to say.
But most off the ones I've come across in repairing facia boards have been just nailed or screwed on nothing fancy at all.

Christos
5th September 2014, 03:07 PM
Rossnroller; Welcome to the forum.

rossnroller
5th September 2014, 05:43 PM
Sorry to say.
But most off the ones I've come across in repairing facia boards have been just nailed or screwed on nothing fancy at all.

Thanks, Simplicity. I guess I'll see the nails or screws when/if I venture on to the roof and get up close and personal with our drastically leaning finial. From the side, it looked like there may have been a wood joint of some sort that has rotted away, but from what you say, probably not.

Cheers
Ross

rossnroller
5th September 2014, 05:44 PM
Rossnroller; Welcome to the forum.
Thanks, Christos.

Cheers
Ross

chuck1
5th September 2014, 11:27 PM
Even today the gable ends are glued and screwed, 515 glue.

rwbuild
6th September 2014, 12:40 AM
Even today the gable ends are glued and screwed, 515 glue.