PDA

View Full Version : painting doors

reybec
29th June 2005, 02:28 PM
when painting interior doors
is it best to use an acrylic or enamel paint?
thanks

Beetles
29th June 2005, 03:36 PM
Have a similar query about painting steel door frames. Which is best to use water-based or oil-based paint?

cheers

beetles

Zed
29th June 2005, 03:53 PM
Hi,

Im no expert - lots a people on this bbs will confirm that :-)

however - oil based is generally shinier, more waterprrof, more resilient to kiddie drawings and smellier to apply.

acrylic (water based) is easier to apply, more forgiving of hiding brush marks etc.

traditionally doors are oil base painted, walls are acrylic except in kitchens and bathrooms (wet areas)

steel door frames require a proper undercoat like galmet followed by a good enamel based paint (oil) that forms a strong bond to the undercoat.

however the newer technologies available these days renders the above obsolete - eg dulux weathersheild is an exernal water based paont suiable for any surface... hence whatever rolls your boat and is in your price range is the go!

HavinaGo
29th June 2005, 04:20 PM
Hi Reybec,

As Zed says

... I did try a gloss acrylic on some interior timber trim around the door. Definately not as shiny and it has chipped, but it is easy to fix up. It does dry quick (enamel takes a few days to be people resistent ... that might be my application technique as well)

If I was doing things again:
When the door is off its hinges and out in the shed .. good quality oil based enamel can't be beat. (i tried some cheap hardware store branded stuff a few years ago and it has gone a yuk brown/grey .. so I've learnt not to do that again ... so you can see my only problem is "what is good quality?")
When the door must stay in the house and the family is home ... I'd go the acrylic these days accepting the need for touch ups.

all the best

silentC
29th June 2005, 04:21 PM