PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a Lathe

brendan stemp
21st September 2014, 10:18 AM
One of the most regular questions on this forum (and others) is: "I am a beginner, what sort of lathe should I buy? " Its a difficult question to answer because I don't think there is such a thing as a 'beginners lathe' so I decided to do a video that would address this question. I hope this of help to some.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuWuZnQuXgA

QuarkVI
22nd September 2014, 06:02 AM
Thanks for this Brendan - was great to see you using the VL175 as an example as I was asking for a comparison between it and the Nova on another thread.

Just wanted to add that I came to the same conclusion as you the hard way i.e. there isn't really a cheap option for a beginner. I bought a cheap lathe and it has a number of the problems you point out resulting in much frustration and essentially meaning I can't do much turning on it.

Best advice for a beginner who is saving up for a lathe is to join a club - most cost effective way to get some turning done and you have the advantage of all the help from the members. Wood turning does take a bit of money to set yourself up in as beyond the lathe you still need to purchase tools, sharpening kit and probably a chuck. Again the club is the best way to see if it is worth the investment for you.

cheers
Robin

P.S. I am now really looking forward to getting the VL175 once I have saved all the pennies.

Mobyturns
22nd September 2014, 09:14 AM
Brendan.
Good work on the clip, sound advice. I first thought 21min wow a bit long but it is well worth the time to view. You give a good run down on the function of parts of a lathe and what to look out for.

Your comments on avoiding tail stock alignment issues are good BUT depending upon the purpose of the lathe they may not be such a deal breaker if used for bowl turning only or architectural type spindle work. Some older Vicmarc's and Woodfast's exhibit the spindle alignment problems you speak too.