PDA

View Full Version : Railway Line for Anvil

daveylad
8th October 2014, 10:35 AM
If anyone is interested I've been sourcing anvils and have looked a fair bit at Rail track as a use, I found that its hard to get especially here in Queensland (Sunshine Coast), for info I found a guy very helpful in Victoria details are
EMRAILS http://www.emrails.com.au/enquiries.php
*Street address:*
1257 / 1259 Ferntree Gully Road
SCORESBY, 3179, VICTORIA
*Postal Address:*
Private Bag 3, Ferntree Gully
VICTORIA, 3156, AUSTRALIA Toll free: 1800 804 276
Fax: 1300 735 348
Ph: 03 93111266
Fax: 03 93115322

Has some smaller pieces suitable and also heavy gauge

Marc
9th October 2014, 07:12 AM
Wow, 150k a meter!

You can certainly make a decent size anvil with 500 /700mm of that sort of rail

mike48
9th October 2014, 08:16 AM
When I was a trainee techo in 1968, our blacksmith shop cut me a 350mm piece of unused rail track on a metal bandsaw. Dont know how they got the track, as this was an aviation engineering organisation.

The 90 deg smooth corner of the bandsaw cut is good for some "operations".
I have three 1 1/4 holes in my piece, being the extreme end piece of a track when it is fishplate joined to the next track.
The non-cut end of my piece has a small bevel down on the rolling surface, as if to facilitate better mating of the rolling surface of one track to the next, and so as to reduce the "clackity clack" noise, I suppose?

I have used this as a small anvil for many years and can recommend it, as the steel is very tough but not brittle.

NCArcher
9th October 2014, 11:13 AM
I have a 1m long piece of 'work hardened' rail track. Weighs 52 kg. I am moving house soon and don't want to take it with me. Too much stuff to move as it is.
Free to a good home if anyone wants to pick it up from the Hunter Valley in NSW. I don't have anything to cut it either.

daveylad
9th October 2014, 11:26 AM