PDA

View Full Version : Smith and Mills Shaper

Karl Robbers
14th November 2014, 09:46 AM
Well, it appears that I am the proud new owner of a Smith and Mills 25" Shaper in good condition. All 6200 pounds of her.
What can anyone tell me about the Smith and Mills machines. I know that they are US made and have been making shapers since 1888.
Secondly, what pre checks should I be giving the old girl before I push the go button. I believe that they have an internal lubrication pump and therefore I will ensure that all pipes/orifices are clear and oiling the areas that need oiling. A bit of a Google search also gives me the impression that you need to be very careful about setup otherwise moving parts can clash and destroy themselves in the blink of an eye.
Can anyone recommend a good book that gives an overview of shapers, their setup, operation and tool sharpening/profiles?
I am a Boilermaker by trade and know my way around a lathe pretty well and can perform basic milling operations competently, but shapers are a new area for me.
Ideally I would love to lay my hands on a manual for the machine, but that will take some doing I imagine.
If anyone is looking for a shaper, the same gentleman that I purchased this one from has a Sacia 450 available as well and is very willing to negotiate on price as he needs to vacate a rented shed ASAP.

welder
14th November 2014, 11:06 AM
Pics or it doesn't exist :U

http://neme-s.org/Shaper%20Books/shaper_book_page.htm

franco
14th November 2014, 11:37 AM
"Shapers" by Emanuele Stieri (ISBN 1-55918-146-X) covers the subject pretty well. I got my copy from Plough Book Sales some time ago. It is a Lindsay Publications reprint of the original, but may not still be available new because Lindsay Publications have now ceased business.