PDA

View Full Version : Lidded box in walnut

Tim Creeper
2nd December 2014, 10:54 AM
So I finally got on the lathe and turned up a lidded box. It's Walnut with a little sparkly, blingy thingy in the finial. It took a bit of time. I'm not that experienced but i have high hopes. I'm having trouble with the tools. I've got no chuck and only got large gouge's so can't turn this size with anything but scrapers so after a few grabs and flying bits and a bit of ca I got it finished. It's finished with 5 coats of danish oil and a light rub each coat.

Hermit
2nd December 2014, 12:21 PM
Nice one, Tim, and that Walnut looks great. (American Walnut?)
How big is it?
Interesting finial, too - looks a bit like a mushroom.

For smaller gouges, if like me you're financially challenged for tools, I found that the GPW spindle gouges aren't too bad at all for the price. My 3/8" spindle gouge was $19.50 inc. GST + $7.95 deliv.

3/8" Spindle Gouge - Gary Pye Woodworking (http://www.garypye.com/Turning-Tools/GPW-Turning-Tools/Gouge-s/GPW-3-8-Spindle-Gouge-p421.html)

It works fine and seems to hold an edge OK, about as good as my Sorby bowl gouge in that regard. I bought mine to get some practice shaping and sharpening a fingernail profile before outlaying bigger $. (Out of the box, the gouge has a traditional grind.)

Tim Creeper
2nd December 2014, 06:41 PM
Nice one, Tim, and that Walnut looks great. (American Walnut?)
How big is it?
Interesting finial, too - looks a bit like a mushroom.

For smaller gouges, if like me you're financially challenged for tools, I found that the GPW spindle gouges aren't too bad at all for the price. My 3/8" spindle gouge was $19.50 inc. GST + $7.95 deliv.

3/8" Spindle Gouge - Gary Pye Woodworking (http://www.garypye.com/Turning-Tools/GPW-Turning-Tools/Gouge-s/GPW-3-8-Spindle-Gouge-p421.html)