PDA

View Full Version : New to turning and need help with my lathe

mattm82
12th December 2014, 01:45 PM
Hi all,

I am brand new to wood turning and have just picked up a Woodfast M408S in great condition for the princely sum of $300.

It doesn't however have a chuck and the tailstock ram doesn't have any attachments (forgive me if my terminology is wrong, Google told me to say it)

I am wanting to know if the thread will fit a standard wood turning Chuck. I was hoping to get a woodfast one. I've emailed them but they don't seem particularly interested in answering.

The other question is whether the tail stock is an MT2, looks about that size to me.

I am planning on turning round handles for knife steels and down the track I'll probably play around with other projects.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Matt

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Evanism
12th December 2014, 05:57 PM
Congrats with your win. I think there were a few of us in Canberra watching that one. GrayDog will be weeping.

The M408S is the short version of the M408.

This is stolen after a bit of a Google.... "swing over bed: 16 inches standard, 20 inches available; Spindle speeds: 5 speed model, 370, 650, 1200, 2000, 2700 rpm; variable speed model 0-2750; spindle thread size: 1-1/4 x 8 tpi inboard, 1-1/4 x 8 tpi L.H. outboard; head and tailstock taper: No. 2 MT; center spindle to floor: 45 inches on 16 inch model, 47 inches on 20 inch models; indexing: equal spaces 24, 12, 8, 6,4,3, 2; weight, net: M408-385 lbs, M908-520 lbs"

So, your tailstock is an MT2, you're saved! The spindle is 1 1/4" x 8tpi.

I don't believe there is too much trauma there as my mate Delbs (in Belco) had a similar beastie and we just needed to grab the appropriate threaded insert for the chuck. (Chucks are sold with inserts (a giant screw) so they don't need to make 420 different models...one model and you get the right insert for some trivial fee)