PDA

View Full Version : Which welder to get ?

croc
8th July 2005, 09:21 AM
Any assistance would be appreciated. I have narrowed down that a gas/gasless Mig would be suitable for small all round jobs around the house & a beginner like me, C section, gal steel etc. I'm tossing up whether to get a new SIP 150 Turbo Mig for $600 or a WIA 150 Mig, 9 years old, looks hardly used for about $600 to $700, are the WIA that much better ?

I need to decide quickly, or lose the opportunity to buy. Also, I'm open to suggestions, if I should be looking at an Arc Welder instead ? That's about the maximum dollars I want to spend. Thanks.

JDarvall
8th July 2005, 10:13 AM
I'm not a welder by trade or anything......but if its just small jobs around the house ......really just a cheapy arc welders the go I reakon.......I've got a GMC $100 one .....took some practise to use well though.....and you often have to grind away the splatter afterwards.......but if all your interested in is strong welds and appearence is not important I'd just buy a arc welder and save a few hundred dollars.

I find the frustrating thing with welding is just seeing what your doing........if you set up one area in your shed just for welding with a powerful light right in close no probs,,,,and a cheapy fan to blow the fumes away,,,or else you'll feel a little crook,,,and a rip of dark material tucked into your helmet to block out any light that sneaks in through the back and your set......I reakon

glock40sw
8th July 2005, 10:37 AM
G'day.
I got a CIG Transmig 165.
It's about 6 months old.
I ran it on gasless for awhile but didn't like the spatter.
I now run it on Liquidaire Migshield gas with 0.6 wire.
Goes like a dog shot up the date.
Bloody great welder.

The only down side is the cost of bottle rental (thieving mongrels).
about $75 to refill and rental of $123 per year.

However, for outdoor use I still use .9 gasless wire.
The 165 has 6 voltage settings and has a 3 metre handpiece lead.