PDA

View Full Version : Disston D-8 replica

rob streeper
31st December 2014, 01:06 PM
Like Ron I've been toying with the idea of making hand saws. I really like Disston's D-8 saws, particularly in the 20-24 inch range toothed at 10-12 ppi. I've never done double tapering before but I just got some 0.035" 1095 delivered and thought I'd give it a go.

Here are the results.

Plate before.

I modeled this on a 22" D8 12 ppi original that I really like.

Here are the results of the taper grinding.

It approximates the dimensions of the original, which as a 0.032" plate. Nonetheless I think I remove a couple of thousandths more down the center-line of the plate.

Cheers,
Rob

rob streeper
7th January 2015, 11:26 AM
I got a chance to re-do this plate today. It is now 0.024" at the top of the toe and tapers smoothly back from there. This is going to be a worky addition, took me about an hour to do this.

hiroller
8th January 2015, 09:09 PM
Looks good.
What are you using to do the tapering?

rob streeper
8th January 2015, 09:20 PM
Thanks, I use my 6" x 48" belt grinder and a ceramic belt. Rough shaping on 60 grit followed by 120 grit and buffing. Lot's of finesse too.

hiroller
9th January 2015, 05:19 AM
Thanks. Sounds tricky. Are you just holding the plate by hand or do you mount it on a backing board. Is there a risk of losing the temper?

rob streeper
9th January 2015, 08:09 AM
Thanks. Sounds tricky. Are you just holding the plate by hand or do you mount it on a backing board. Is there a risk of losing the temper?

At this point I'm doing it by hand. I've gone through a lot of gloves, blood and fingernails learning how to do it without getting hurt. You have to take it easy with the cutting so as to not overheat the steel. Lot's of passes with cooling in between.

rob streeper
9th January 2015, 11:48 AM
I got all three of these D8 blades taper ground and toothed today. Here they are after lapping.