PDA

View Full Version : Newbie post - Workbench timber

jdaniel
25th October 2001, 01:07 PM
Hi Folks,

My first post - hello to all.

I want to get into woodworking on a hobby level. My first project will be a workbench.

Now I've bought the Scott Landis Workbench book and I think I know what I want. Anyway the question
is where can I source DAR hardwood for the bench top? I'm in the Parramatta area.

What timber do you recommend? I don't have a
thicknesser so I'm after DAR hardwood.

Thanks!
Jeremy

A bit about me seeing as this is my first post. I'm an IT professional - I have built houses in previous years and therefore have accumulated *some* tools. eg Compound Slide saw,Triton, Drill Press, Sanders, router etc.

So I'm part way to having a Workshop - just need to convert the gargage - the Workbench is the first project.

Rod Smith
27th October 2001, 02:12 PM
G'day J
Welcome aboard. (woodworkers always do, lol).
For my bench I have just used a piece of mdf with some horrible thin artificial wood coating on it. Has lasted for years, suffering much abuse, glue nails etc. A quick swipe over with a chisel sends the glue flying off the smooth finish. I thought I would need to replace after a couple of years but its still OK.
Not sure what solid timber to use,maybe someone else?
Cheers
Rod

TOMARTOM
28th October 2001, 05:52 AM
Built quite a sturdy bench by using Jarrah beams, from a demolished house, (would be available from any timber salvage). For the top, used an old piece of chipboard about 1" thick and covered it with a sheet of melamine, quite hard and easily replacable if required.

The end result a strong bench, with a minimum outlay of money.

Cheers

Tony

ubeaut
28th October 2001, 09:03 AM
G'day Jeremy - welcome aboard the board.