PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Thick but keen and been away for 7 years

WaggaSteve
21st March 2015, 06:14 PM
I am relatively new to woodturning ( and fairly thick) and whilst I had some primitive bits, I have been away from my place near the salt air (and rust) for the last 7 years. No its not the wheelie bin joke - I was working in Angola and not in jail except for the last couple of days (long story involving $50 m of corruption and deportation).

Anyway I now have 3 major challenges:
1 I have purchased an oldish Coronet No 3 lathe and seek some advice - specifically if I want to make wooden face plates using a tap (which I have never used), what size (spindle is apparently 3/4" x 16 tpi) and are there any other specifics I need to supply eg right handed or any sources you can recommend. Also my few bits are MT2 but Coronet is MT1 - any idea if/where converters are available or any alternative advice
2 I did have some bits eg a Vicmarc chuck but the time away hasnt been kind to them so am looking for advice on rust loosening.
3 I have a woodfast 280 but no manual and little help from woodfast. Anyone got access to an electronic copy of the manual

Thanks in advance and any advice on working in Africa gladly given though I didnt bring any wood back as I was actually lucky to escape
Steve

smiife
21st March 2015, 07:08 PM
Hi steve,
Welcome back and welcome to the forum,
can, t help with your lathe but I am sure someone will
help you sort it out:U

TermiMonster
21st March 2015, 07:43 PM
Record lathes use 3/4" 16TPI, if that helps (or the old ones did, anyway)
TM

BobL
21st March 2015, 08:54 PM
I'm not sure tapping a piece of wood to direct mount a faceplate onto a headstock thread is a good idea.
Normally a steel flange is used and a piece of wood attached to that.

Anyway a 3/4" 16tpi tap costs $16 at McJing
https://mcjing.com.au/categorybrowser.aspx?categoryid=50

An Mt1 female to MT2 female adapter can also be purchased from McJing