PDA

View Full Version : Cats AFL Quilt

cathiequilter
27th March 2015, 03:34 PM
Hi everyone,

My name is Cathie, I am into quilting - self taught over about 10 years. My husband Keith is into woodworking on the Toymaking Section.

I am making a Geelong Cats - AFL Quilt. I contacted the Geelong Football Club to ensure I was allowed to make a facsimile of their logo. They said it was OK - so long as it wasn't sold.

We print out a logo off the internet and then Keith hand draws it up to scale by making up a grid pattern. This is enlarged to the size I want. This then becomes my pattern.

I use wooden or cardboard letters as my wording templates - depending on size. I have cheated a bit by buying the whole alphabet letters from Bunnings on the smaller size.

I use sheets to save on cost, but they must be minimum 250 thread count and must be cotton.

I place vliesofix on the back of the material so you don't need pins. I machine sew - not hand sew.

Will continue posting as I progress

Bye Now

Cathie

Big Shed
27th March 2015, 04:36 PM
Hi Cathie and welcome to the forum.

I look forward to your contributions here, having 2 daughters that are very active quilters I am no stranger to that craft.http://d1r5wj36adg1sk.cloudfront.net/images/smilies/actions/2thumbsup.gif

Bronferr
27th March 2015, 07:04 PM
Hi Cathy
Great to hear about your quilting project. I belong to the Gold Coast Quilters Guild and from time to time members have made a football (rugby or AFL) quilt - mostly for male grandchildren! They are wonderful to see. Look forward to seeing your completed one.
It shall be fun to check into this forum from time to time.
Cheers
Bronnie

crowie
27th March 2015, 08:01 PM
Hi everyone,

My name is Cathie, I am into quilting - self taught over about 10 years. My husband Keith is into woodworking on the Toymaking Section.