PDA

View Full Version : MJ-2325B Table saw. :(

monoman
15th July 2005, 07:09 PM
Hi,

I recently took delivery of a Carbatec MJ-2325B 10" Tablesaw. I chose it over the TS10HB because it's 2HP motor would be friendlier on my fragile garage wiring (rented house and landlord won't spend a cent to fix it), and because it was considerably cheaper.

Saw arrived on Wednesday, had it setup later that day only to find that the cast iron tabletop was nowhere near flat. Around 1 mm out in places, and the cast iron extensions were even worse - you can feel the dips and ridges with your finger. Bugger!

Cabatec have offered to take it back as apparently, all of the other saws they checked were non-flat too. Very happy with the service from the new Melbourne store.

So I'm back in the market for a TS. I still have the problem with the garage power supply, and the dollar gap for the TS10HB (another $600 to changeover).

Not sure which way to go on this.

I don't have much money because I'm studying (MBA), and haven't worked since getting caught up in the Bali bombings back in 2001. I've slowing been getting myself, and my workshop back together after having sold most of my equipment because I moved to East Timor in 2000. Right now I'm felling a bit dissapointed as workshop progress has gone backwards again.

Just before I started writing this message, I listed my Festool router on the Festool forum, and now it's sold. Guess I can afford the TS10HB now. Advice regarding repowering the TS with a 2HP motor, or how to solve my garage problems mucho appreciated.

Cheers and thanks.

NeilR
15th July 2005, 09:56 PM
Sounds like a heavy duty extension cord from the house might be the answer if its close by.
Neil

dazzler
15th July 2005, 10:42 PM
Hey mono

Bom Dia

I have run my TSC10HB through a ten amp powerboard with a safety switch and ran fine...i dont think they draw that much....give it a go!

CIVPOL, DEFENCE or NGO?
cheers

dazzler

monoman
15th July 2005, 10:58 PM