PDA

View Full Version : Angle of Cutter for Deep Hollowing

Kidbee
19th June 2015, 07:45 PM
My Vermec Ultimate Deep Hollowing System has arrived and being a complete novice to deep hollowing I have been carefully reading the instructions which says "Important- The cutter should always be on a 30 to 45 degree angle".

I guess that is to prevent a catch or dig-in and the round cutter makes more of a shearing cut.

What has me confused is that when you view Guilio Marcolongo using one on a brief Youtube presentation he appears to be using it without that angle because the side handle on the tool handle is horizontal. When he stops the machine and replaces the cutter with the sanding head in the correct position, the handle is still horizontal which demonstrates he was using the cutter without the suggested angle; if that makes sense.

I know a number of members own this type of Hollowing System and may be able to offer some advice.

http://youtu.be/7B-68Wr9kRA

Rippa
20th June 2015, 01:25 AM
I don't own one of them but have borrowed and used one a couple of times but as far as I know you can move the handle on the main shaft so as to suit the angle you want at the tip. Which he may have done on the U tube video without saying.
Cheers Rippa

Kidbee
20th June 2015, 09:00 AM
I don't own one of them but have borrowed and used one a couple of times but as far as I know you can move the handle on the main shaft so as to suit the angle you want at the tip. Which he may have done on the U tube video without saying.
Cheers Rippa

Yes, the handle is adjustable and they may have done what you said. When you were hollowing did you set the side handle to be horizontal when the cutter was at the correct angle?

Drillit
20th June 2015, 05:28 PM
I don't think that Guilio would have used it horizontal, even when he cuts upside down on the right hand side of the piece.