PDA

View Full Version : Router Bits

David V Jones
22nd August 2015, 12:07 PM
I'm new to routing. I have just purchased a Triton (big one) and mounted it I a KREG table. I wish to make toys using a pattern. I am having success at the moment routing 19 pine but I need to glue two together to get the desired thickness I want.
Can you routers out there please advise where I might be able to get a 40-50m straight sided trimming cutter
I see in America they suggest a 1/2" four bladed cutter is the best (Italian made). Have not been able to find them in Australia. Any help would be appreciated as I enjoy making small toys as we raise money for he local nursing home.

Damienol
22nd August 2015, 12:32 PM
I am sure i have seen them at Bunnings

the Freud brand they stock is up there with the best

spokeshave
22nd August 2015, 08:43 PM
Hi Dave.

Carbi-tool have flush trimming bits in this length (50.8mm) and also an inverted flush trimming bit in the same length but they are 2 flute only.

http://envirocatalogue.com.au/Carbitool_Website_2012/Router_Bit/#/10/zoomed

Hope the link works.

Steven.

ian
23rd August 2015, 12:21 AM
you may also want to consider a spiral bit

http://envirocatalogue.com.au/Carbitool_Website_2012/Router_Bit/

they tend to be a bit pricey but minimal chip out

Dengue
23rd August 2015, 08:40 AM
Carb- i-tool make really good quality router bits here in Australia. They have plenty of tungsten carbide on the edges which allow for many sharpenings. Pays to buy Australian, give the, a ring, great to deal with and quick delivery

Lappa
23rd August 2015, 09:08 AM
:whs:

Just bought both the 50.8mm trimming bits - great value!

RoyG
23rd August 2015, 07:13 PM