PDA

View Full Version : The owner said "Take these machines or Im going to scrap them"

auscab
29th November 2015, 11:14 PM
The weekend of the 21st 22nd and Monday the 23rd was a big one for shifting machines .
First off, on the Saturday, Matty and I went and picked up a Lacey sander and a Wadkin EQ moulder that we bought and had been trucked down from NSW . We dropped the moulder at my place and the sander at Matty's. I'm wrapped to finally get a Wadkin EQ , it has a power feed and will be taking over the job from a Jet I have been using for the last ten years and started falling apart three months after I bought it, the spindle lock fell to pieces and the switch was crap and giving me trouble .
Ive never used a power feed and am looking forward to it . I just did a job on the Jet and had to run plenty of hours of different mouldings on it . I was thinking as I was feeding how nice a power feed would be for this. much safer as well, and anything that improves the finish by being consistent with the feed is going to be a time saver with mouldings , I cant wait !

Then on the Sunday we drove out of town an hour to pick up some machinery that the owner was giving away , otherwise he was scraping it . This doesn't happen to often ! Free woodworking Machines !!
I was offered the Wolfenden Rip saw , I would not have really wanted one of these saws, but because I'm moving from a workshop with no space , and setting up a new one on a farm with plenty of space .
And because I have all sorts of fencing and Gates and workshop building ahead of me , it made sense to grab it for some large ripping that I will be doing. It has a monster of a 15 Hp motor with it and the blade is about 22 Inch , I didn't measure it, the machine may take a larger one ?
Matty grabbed the Wolfenden thicknesser , 20 inch cut , with a square head , and we also grabbed the Hyco 6" buzzer for our friend Jacob .