PDA

View Full Version : School Safety Research

Damien_72
8th August 2005, 01:45 PM
Hi,

I am an education student conducting some research into safety in woodwork metalwork. If any one has any information, or can direct me to where I can find information, relating to injuries in woodwork or metal work school classes it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Damien

custos
8th August 2005, 01:56 PM
http://www.woodworking.org/ has a database of woodworking accidents. Read through that for a while and it could well make you think twice before taking a shortcut with a power tool!

Damien_72
8th August 2005, 04:39 PM
Yes, I see shortcuts are not the way to go when working with tools! What a really need is a data from an education dept. So if there is any woodwork teachers that could point me in the right direction. I am specifically after amount and types of injuries that occur in woodwork/metalwork in schools. I am doing research to see how safety practices over the years have decreased/increased incidents of injury in schools.

Thanks
Damien

Optimark
8th August 2005, 05:36 PM
I think you would be able to get some information from the Chadstone TAFE school. They run a very big woodworking section for apprentices, mature age students who just require wood working courses for their hobby and other courses as well.

Mick.

www.holmesglen.vic.edu.au (http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&hs=dqf&lr=&cr=countryAU&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official_s&q=+site:www.holmesglen.vic.edu.au+chadstone+tafe)

Grahame Collins
17th August 2005, 10:38 PM
Woodwork

Finger and hand cuts due to incorrect use of
Chisels- not keeping body parts -behind the blade

Lacerated guide hand or fingers.
Handsaws-using the saw in a rapid manner without allowing it to engage in its (deep enough ) pre cut kerf - saw jumps out at speed and chews up skin.

Metalwork
Read same as above for hacksaws
Various cuts to fingers and hands from sheet metal guillotined edges