PDA

View Full Version : Tenon saw - reverse cant to blade

Sammyb81
1st February 2016, 03:09 PM
Hi there,

I picked up a elsworth tenon saw at a market recently and when I got it home I noticed there is a bit of a reverse cant to the blade. It's about 80mm at the toe and 75mm at the heel. Do you think this will be an issue in use? I did a quick test cut feels fine I think.

I'm very new to woodwork, just putting some tools together as I come across them.

cheers, Sam

IanW
2nd February 2016, 09:10 AM
Hi Sam, & welcome to the Forum.

It's unlikely there is a real 'reverse' cant on your saw - you might find it is simply that the spine is sitting high at the toe end. Spines often get knocked out of kilter.

If it is genuinely 'reverse-canted', I very much doubt it is intentional (it would give the saw a most unaesthetic look, to my eyes), but I can't think how that could have happened other than by someone using an odd sharpening technique. Normally, a slight cant develops in any well-used saw over time, because the teeth at the toe end tend to need more attention from the file than those at the heel, which do little work.

Anyways, I'd suggest you take a mallet and give a few gentle taps on that spine and see what happens.... :;

Cheers,

Sammyb81
2nd February 2016, 07:01 PM
Banged the spine back on with a mallet, all good now :)

What a newbie! Thanks Ian

IanW
2nd February 2016, 07:24 PM
Banged the spine back on with a mallet, all good now :)

What a newbie! Thanks Ian

Don't be the slightest bit embarrassed, Sam. You had the good sense to ask a question about something that seemed odd to you, and luckily enough, my answer helped solve your problem. We all start out knowing nothing, those who ask questions inevitably end up knowing more..... :;

Cheers,

Bushmiller
2nd February 2016, 09:29 PM
Ian