PDA

View Full Version : Help me buy my dad a lathe?

davidjames
4th February 2016, 12:15 AM
My Dad has wanted a woodworking lathe for some 15 years or more now but keeps putting it off so I thought I'd buy him one for his birthday in April.

I have used a metalwork lathe in the past but I really am a complete novice so I would appreciate some advice. "As large as possible" seemed to be some advice I recall when buying a lathe?

One thing for sure, he would like to make bowls. So having the lathe head turn 180 degrees /re-lock, or purposely having a larger depth the other side would be important.

If you had a moment, could you share some advice on what to buy?

I know this is something he's eyed but is far out of my reach: Axminster Trade Series AT1628VS Woodturning Lathe - Woodturning Lathes - Lathes - Machinery | Axminster Tools & Machinery (http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-trade-series-at1628vs-woodturning-lathe-502703)

I am looking to find something good quality second hand.

This Axminster M900 seems similar? But is older. Also, I think at £300 it may be over priced. axminster wood turning lathe and stand | eBay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/252272742960?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT)

"Hilka" Hilka Pro-Craft Professional Variable Speed Wood Lathe | eBay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/141893110549?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT)

"NuTool" NUTOOL Variable Speed Wood Lathe, Robert Sorby Chisels plus extras | eBay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272122839488?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT)

"Wadkin Bursgreen" wadkin bursgreen wood turning lathe with phase convertor runs from single phase | eBay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/262266009401?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT)

I imagine for convenience of not having to change belts to change speed, something more modern might be more friendly?