PDA

View Full Version : T slot bit rising out of collett

Tiger12
1st March 2016, 12:55 PM
I am a new woodworker.

My first project is a router table.

I built the table and wanted to put a mite slot in both the table top and the fence.

bought a I/4 inch t slot bit and used a AEG plunge router with a I/4 collet insert and cut the slot OK.

However when I put the bit into my mounted Triton TRA1 table mounted router with a I/4 inch collet it rose out of the collet. I had previously had the same problem with the bit in table mounted Ozito router which I blamed on the el cheapo router.

It sees that the bit is OK when it is not mounted in a table mounted router.

Any suggestions

fubar
1st March 2016, 02:38 PM
I've had similar issues in the past spoke with carbitool and they suggested replace the collet as they wear down. I did and it solved the problem. I now regularly replace the collets and as I use only a few 1/4" shafts they each tend to have their own collet.

Godfrey
1st March 2016, 02:39 PM
I had a similar issue with a Bosch router and it turned out that the collet was too large. Carbatech replaced the collet as it was still under warranty. That said, have you experienced the problem with other 1/4 inch router bits in the Triton? If not then perhaps it's the bit and not the router or there is some dirt on the collet.

Tiger12
1st March 2016, 05:26 PM
Both routers are new.

I have not had a problem with other 1/4 bits.

Funny that it happened only with the router inverted (i.e. in a table) otherwise I would blame the bit

A Duke
1st March 2016, 05:42 PM
Hi,
May be you let the bit bottom before tightening, being that gravity would bottom it in the table and not when loaded on its side. Do you have the separate collets or are you using the older insert adapter?
Regards

Lappa
1st March 2016, 07:42 PM
Have a read through this thread, Same problem as yours

http://www.woodworkforums.com/f20/router-bit-climbs-cutting-202176

Cheers

Tiger12
2nd March 2016, 08:12 AM