PDA

View Full Version : Another Would-be Lathe User

yvan
15th March 2016, 09:58 PM
I have this idea/notion of refurbishing some old chisels I have, including turning new handles in the process.

I have never used a lathe before and just noticed that Carbatec are offering a midi lathe - Teknatool Nova Comet including a G3 Rev chuck Pack - for what appears to be a reasonable $. Would such a beast be an overkill for what I wish to do?

Should I be wiser and attend wood-turning classes before even thinking about such a purchase even if the offer looks tempting?

All views will be gratefully received.

yvan

Sturdee
15th March 2016, 10:26 PM
Should I be wiser and attend wood-turning classes before even thinking about such a purchase even if the offer looks tempting?

yvan

Yes, you may well find that turning is not for you.

Peter.

Paul39
16th March 2016, 12:46 PM
Yvan,

By getting some instruction and / or going to a mens shed, you would find how much stuff you will need to be turning.

Buying a lathe is like buying a router or a DVD player, it is just the beginning.

Christos
17th March 2016, 07:07 AM
.....Should I be wiser and attend wood-turning classes before even thinking about such a purchase even if the offer looks tempting?......

I did the reverse where I purchased some second hand chisels, got hold of a lathe that needed to be restored and then got some instructions. :U

Quite an interesting journey and it is turning out to be a fun one. I will say that it can be very expensive in a very short time.

Optimark
17th March 2016, 03:24 PM
Worst case scenario, you find turning is not for you, so you decide to sell what you have purchased.

Normal price for those two units, lathe and chuck is $1,000 in round figures.