PDA

View Full Version : Learning with both hands?

camoz
23rd March 2016, 10:32 AM
Hi all,

Well I decided to join a woodturners club and take advantage of the learner classes. First night I was supposed to be doing beads and coves, with the skew chisel and spindle gouge, but being completely new to this "spinning woodworking", I learned about catches and spirals:U (I did manage to finish on a somewhat passable bead and cove, so all is not lost:-).

Probably the hardest thing for me and the instructor, is that I am left handed. The unusual thing was that when left to practice, I found myself using both hands without thinking, depending on which direction I was going.

My question is, given I am completely new to this (so forming habits), should I stop switching hands, or continue with using both hands. I imagine there could be a lot of advantages with being able to turn left and right handed, but I am wondering if this is easier to do from the beginning, or if I am just making learning twice as hard, and should learn left handed first, then add the second hand later (when I have left handed turning sorted).

I do most things left handed, although I was ambidextrous as a child, so learning something new with both hands is probably easier for me than most other people.

Any thought and advice greatly appreciated. Oh and lastly, no I will not post a photo of my practice turn, no one will ever see that....lol.

cheers,

Camo

chambezio
23rd March 2016, 10:48 AM
There is a professional Woodturner in our area. He was a Fitter/Machinist by trade and so converted a metal lathe into a left handed lathe for himself. Being professional, when he would do demos away from his home he had to use lathes that were of coarse right handed. He did look a little awkward but his results were very good.