PDA

View Full Version : MC1100 stand or my lousy skills.

Shekel
15th August 2005, 06:06 PM
Hi, I have an MC1100 which I'm having some issues with. The majority vote on this site seems to be that the flimsy stand that comes with the lathe needs a bit of work. I seem to get occasional amounts of dig in and I was wondering whether the stand is vibrating and causing the tool to get knocked around and so, dig in. There doesn't appear to be any vibration that I can feel but I can't tell the difference between what should be vibrating and what shouldn't.

My problem is that I dont have the space to permanently put the lathe.
I was just wondering what the symptoms are if the frame isn't adequately secured. There probably a good chance that the problems might be caused by my skill level ( absolute beginner ).

I was wondering whether there was anyone in the area ( Diamond Creek/Eltham ) who also had a MC1100 who has it bolted down so I could do a comparison.

Then again, I suppose I could always take a lesson or two .

Cheers
Shek

Sprog
15th August 2005, 07:15 PM
A lesson or two could be in order.
Sounds like technique. :D :D :D

I have an MC1100 not boltrd down and there is no movement or vibration.

Stuart
15th August 2005, 07:40 PM
I don't have the stand- but what about hanging some sandbags off it- could be removed when necessary, if hanging almost to ground level would do a good job of dropping the centre of gravity right down, and if the bag was partially in contact with the ground, the vibration absorption of sand would be an added bonus.

La truciolara
15th August 2005, 11:27 PM
.... I seem to get occasional amounts of dig ....Shek

To check if the lathe is vibrating just put your hand on it while running.
The reason of the dig might be that
your chisel is not sharpen enough
your wood has soft parts within hard ones
your experience might need some exercices...:)

woodb woody
15th August 2005, 11:37 PM