PDA

View Full Version : Sticky lacquer even after days left to dry - help...

CalinB
1st April 2016, 05:38 AM
Hello,

I am a small business owner (coffee corners).
I make most of the furniture in our coffee shops.

My newest project involves a lot of plywood with matt lacquer finish.
Even though I let the surface dry after I apply the lacquer it still feels a little sticky days after.
If I have to put an espresso machine on top, it gets stained really bad.

What am I doing wrong?

I use water based lacquer.

Thanks in advance for any tips.

FenceFurniture
1st April 2016, 09:56 AM
Hello,

I am a small business owner (coffee corners).
I make most of the furniture in our coffee shops.

My newest project involves a lot of plywood with matt lacquer finish.
Even though I let the surface dry after I apply the lacquer it still feels a little sticky days after.
If I have to put an espresso machine on top, it gets stained really bad.

What am I doing wrong?

I use water based lacquer.

Thanks in advance for any tips.

Welcome to the forum Calin.

Is the lacquer fresh or old? Could there be something on or in the plywood that is interfering with the lacquer?

CalinB
2nd April 2016, 02:06 AM
Hi,

Lacquer is fresh and the plywood is just bought from Holver (huge wood products retail and whole seller).
One suggestion I got is that the plywood doesn't have as much absorption power as regular wood and I should both apply a thinner layer of lacquer and wait longer between layers. Still, it seems to much time to wait. Between 5 and 7 days is what I've noticed so far, from first coat until the surface is 100% dry.

Is there any other, faster solution, to finish the plywood?
I just want it to be protected, not get stained and keep it's natural look.
Oil?

justonething
2nd April 2016, 02:40 AM