PDA

View Full Version : Turning Basics: Spindle Gouges

Theodor
11th April 2016, 10:13 AM
I am still learning the basics of centre work, and over the weekend I was trying to do curves/beads with the skew gouge. I found it extremely tricky and continued to catch on the wood. I tried similar shapes with my father-in-law's small spindle gouge and found it profoundly easier.

So my question (after a little research which I think is from books which may be a little dated now) is: what is the difference between a shallow and deep-fluted gouge?

I notice that several manufacturers use the terms spindle and bowl, but not shallow or deep-fluted. Have the tools developed into those categories?

I have a nice HT roughing gouge, but it's a huge beast. So I can't really turn fine curves with it. It seems the spindle gauges are pretty cheap so any suggestions on a good one for centrework would be appreciated.

Mark

Luke Maddux
11th April 2016, 10:35 AM
A spindle gouge is made with a shallow flute because this allows it to be a more nimble tool, which is better suited for the finer details often associated with spindle turning.

A bowl gouge is made with a deeper flute for two reasons. First, because making it with a deeper flute means you can make it from a larger piece of steel and it will, in turn, be much stronger. Second, because a deeper flute means it will have a longer beveled/sharpened surface, which will allow you to press it deeper into the wood and take a larger cut while you are hollowing or shaping a bowl, which often requires removal of large amounts of material. Another side effect of this is that the longer sharpened surface will allow you to use the technique of shear scraping using the bowl gouge. I'll let you google that one...