PDA

View Full Version : Which lathe

chicka
14th April 2016, 11:37 PM
Good evening Gentlemen and any ladies out there,

I am looking at buying a new lathe and have been leaning towards the latest Record Power CL3 Cam the one with variable speed control. It falls within my maximum spend limits when all the various accessories are purchased such as stand bowl turning attachment longer tool rests etc etc. I was wondering if anyone could give me their thoughts on the quality of this lathe. Should I hold off and save my pennies for a higher quality and more expensive lathe I have app 3k to spend. It will primarily be used for bowl turning.
Cheers
John

Christos
15th April 2016, 04:22 PM
I cannot comment on the lathe you have mention as I have no experience with it. I am a bit surprised that your budget will be close to 3k with the lathe, the stand and the variable speed upgrade etc.

You have proven one thing for sure it adds up very quickly.

Can I ask what you current lathe is?

pommyphil
15th April 2016, 05:35 PM
Yes, if you are upgrading we can maybe assume you have a sharpening setup, chucks, a few tools ? So you have 3k to spend on a lathe.

Personally I'd go for a second hand Vicmarc ! Maybe VL 175 Must have a solid castiron bed.

artme
15th April 2016, 05:45 PM
A couple of points about the Record lathe:

AFIK these lathes only have #1 Morse taper. That is a bit of a drawback when buying drives and so forth. #2 MT is by far more common.

I am sure the thread is some outmoded thread, so again looking for faceplates, chucks etc is going to be tiresome. I know you can get adapters
but that just adds needless cost.

Cheers, artme.

chicka
15th April 2016, 11:23 PM