PDA

View Full Version : Pole and beam in the centre of living area. How to finish?

grapeseed
21st June 2016, 08:06 PM

I'm a novice when it comes to timber finishing. We're building our home and we've got this post and laminated beam in the living area. They're both unfinished treated pine with the typical CCA green hue to them. I've sanded them both using 120 grit.

I was planning to stain them a dark brown (to hide the green) and then finish it all with something. The beam has some cracks I've filled with epoxy.

Can anyone give me some recommendations for finishing something like this? What do I put over the stained timber? Polyurethane?

orraloon
22nd June 2016, 11:25 AM
Unless you do it really dark brown that pole is going to look rather s#!tty. Brown and green not being a handsome mix. Dark brown will also make the place look kinda dark. If it was my house I would paint the pole same as the walls and either oil or seal the beam in a clear shade to show the wood. If you are going to seal the wood floor then the same poly product would be fine.
Regards
John

ian
22nd June 2016, 01:50 PM
some questions for you

what grade treatment is on the pole and beam -- eg is the pole H4 and the beam H1

my wife says that I'm functionally blind when it comes to colour, so staining is a whole area of difficulty. But to get from green to brown you need to add red. What shade of red and how much will be a matter of experimentation plus decisions as to whether to use a spirit or water based stain

lastly, how good was your dust collection when you sanded the treated pine? Should you be vacuuming the house and running a room air cleaner for a couple of days to collect all the dust that the sanding generated ?

swk
22nd June 2016, 02:10 PM
+1 What Ian said about the dust.

Another thing you might consider is to clad the pole, maybe with left over floor boards.

Regards
SWK

grapeseed
23rd June 2016, 07:06 AM
some questions for you