PDA

View Full Version : Sourcing wood

XanderLin
1st July 2016, 07:25 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm a woodworking student currently working on a batch-product project. For the prototype I used a chunk of pine from Bunnings !00x100 by 2 meters approx.

Without going into too much detail the design involves turning a shape out of the 100x100 x about 300mm.

I've done the prototype and now want to move on to a 'nicer' wood. This is becoming a much bigger problem than I predicted! I went down to Monaro yesterday and bought some excellent wood, but they had nothing for this project (except a perfect piece of Blackwood that was over $600!!) . Today i went to as 'builders' mill and still nothing.

I'm in the Southern Highlands and incredibly no one seems to have anything....I'd be really happy with Karri, even Tas Oak, it's for a toy so I don't need anything spectacular, needs to be ok on a lathe. I hear good things about Anagote so maybe I'll head up there, but i'd rather a reliable source online.

Open to ideas or will pay real money for the right thing! Keep in mind broke student but have genuine interest in my product....

Maybe I should just stick with the Bunning's pine and stain it...everyone who's looked at my prototype has mistaken it for something else...

Thanks

Alex

smiife
1st July 2016, 08:03 PM
Hi alex,
Welcome to the forum , have you looked at the market place
here on the w.w.forum, e.bay has some timber sometimes ,
check around canberra i think there is a place in bungadore
Good luck with it , tune your ears in to the sound of a distant
chainsaw:U

dai sensei
1st July 2016, 08:12 PM
Any old timber mills left around Bowral, they may be a good source. Otherwise send Phily a PM, he had some spectacular large hunks of blackwood at one stage

XanderLin
1st July 2016, 09:31 PM
Thanks for the replies, I will check out the market place but really need a reliable ongoing source. I would potentially buy up a bunch of the right thing.