PDA

View Full Version : Anyone do Bonsai??

johnbaz
11th August 2016, 07:49 AM
Hi all

I've been doing Bonsai since 1999, Acers (Maples) are my favourite species although they seem to sulk and throw leaves/branches occasionally :doh:

Here's a few..

Some are in plant pots rather than Bonsai dishes, I've quite a few that are in washing up bowles!! (In training!!!)

The ones in the greenhouse are dormant or just come in to leaf after being over wintered in there :2tsup:

Cheers, John :)

Cliff Rogers
11th August 2016, 09:27 AM
I tried but Bonsai in the tropics is a bit of a challenge, I still like to look. :2tsup:

wheelinround
11th August 2016, 10:00 AM
I started in the early 80's with a Morton Bay Fig its still going strong through 6 moves it has fathered a large number of others I have some 12 and have given away far more. I do have other plants an Olive son bought me which got a bug into the root ball had to discard the main and have 5 new shoots of the remaining root.

I saw my first Bonsai when about 6 years old friends dad brought it back from Singapore.

Like your collection :2tsup:

Mr Brush
11th August 2016, 10:50 AM
True story for you....

Last year our local agricultural show had a huge display of bonsai in one of the tents - a big crowd of people looking at them, and we ended up stuck behind a couple of old ladies slowly shuffling along the line peering closely at every exhibit. Some of the trees had been passed down from one generation to the next; the most impressive bonsai I've ever seen. The old ladies carefully inspected all the amazing bonsai on display, then when they got to the end of the tables one turned to the other and said "They're all a bit small aren't they?" Yes.....I did crack up laughing :D

Cliff Rogers
11th August 2016, 12:26 PM
I did have some success with Ficus but mostly they just grew far too quickly, all mine have been 'set free' in the paddock, 2 of them a are now VERY big trees in about 10 years.