PDA

View Full Version : Skew for practice - oval or square?

rtyuiop
27th August 2016, 03:53 PM
Hi folks,

So I'm planning to make a concerted effort to improve my skew skills. Mainly for planing cuts, I'm not a big fan of beads!

I only have a couple of square skews, am I better off learning with an oval skew? Is a large/medium or small blade best for a beginner?

Cheers,

Danny

Gabriel
27th August 2016, 04:16 PM
Can't say I'm any sort of authority on using a skew, but the I'm formation I was given was that a square skew was easier as it didn't have a tenancy to 'wobble'. After a bit of practice I would say I like the square skews for larger work, but use the oval one on pens (planing cuts that is) so maybe it's a case of personal preference..... I have found that I tend to go for about a 19mm skew...

As I said, I am only a beginner but that is what I have found.

Cheers
Gab

smiife
27th August 2016, 06:06 PM
Hi folks,

So I'm planning to make a concerted effort to improve my skew skills. Mainly for planing cuts, I'm not a big fan of beads!

I only have a couple of square skews, am I better off learning with an oval skew? Is a large/medium or small blade best for a beginner?

Cheers,

Danny

Hi danny,
I made all kind of stuff up, s with a old skew I had
And I decided to buy a decent one , I got a P&N ,
It has a rounded side and a square side , my skew
skills improved out of site ,,,,,,,, still not great ,,but a
vast Improvment on what they were before.....
I think It, s a 19mm,,,, hope it helps.....

rtyuiop
27th August 2016, 06:14 PM
Ah! I didn't realise there was such a thing as oval on one side, square on the other. Maybe that's the way to go for now, and I can play with both sides on the same chisel and figure out what works best for me.

pommyphil
27th August 2016, 07:01 PM
I think he means a rounded edge, Rounding of the heel,short point edge makes planeing and rolling beads easier. I bought an oval skew early on but never use it, a cow to sharpen !