PDA

View Full Version : Blade moving side to side!?

Waldo
29th August 2005, 04:52 PM
G'day,

Just went down to the shed to cut some stuff up on the b/s and I noticed for some reason the blade is moving side to side and I can feel the sideways movement on every revolution as I cut (or so I think). :confused:

Each night when I finish I release the tension, retension up again and it's runs smooth as, so I haven't done anything from the norm.I'm not a musician so I really don't have it fine tuned perfectly but this has really got me stumped. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Stuart
29th August 2005, 05:16 PM
Clean the sawdust off the wheels!

I bet it is caked on- if so, you'll need to scrape, but just be careful not to damage the rubber.

Waldo
29th August 2005, 05:19 PM
G'day Stuart Lees,

Nope, looked at that and no sawdust on the wheels. Could a blunt blade be my problem?

Wood Borer
29th August 2005, 05:28 PM
Waldo,

I would change the blade. I had a blade like that recently and a new blade overcame the problem.

I checked for wheels being out of plumb, saw dust etc etc it was terrigal! ;)

Sturdee
29th August 2005, 05:31 PM
G'day,

Just went down to the shed to cut some stuff up on the b/s and I noticed for some reason the blade is moving side to side and I can feel the sideways movement on every revolution as I cut (or so I think). :confused:

Each night when I finish I release the tension, retension up again and it's runs smooth as, so I haven't done anything from the norm.I'm not a musician so I really don't have it fine tuned perfectly but this has really got me stumped. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Two things come to mind which I would check.

First do you raise and lower the guide wheel assembly to just above the height of the timber being cut or do you leave it up high all the time. If you leave it up that could be your problem.