PDA

View Full Version : federation home

pootle26
29th August 2005, 05:59 PM
hi i am a newbie here so please be gentle with me :rolleyes:
we have just bought a federation home in perth - there is quite a lot we want/need to do to it but we are unsure of which order to do it in so maybe you guys can help - i will list them down for you

1. replace kitchen - TOTALLY - might be able to salvage taps/sink
2. replace bathroom & re tile - again taps could be saved
3. we have a problem with damp in the laundy - the drain hole (in the floor) has perished & will need replacement (concrete floor- no tiles)
4.The roof has "lifted" in some places - (its a tin one ) & has been painted & looking very crappy so that will need to be repainted or re roofed
5. the wall of the laundry is damp - so plaster needs hacking back - sealing & replastering (builder thinks leak in floor is not helping) poss only single skin wall as it is an add on - so we may have to stud the wall & plasterboard it
6. painting all the rooms - floors & walls
7. we wanna strip down the doors - think they are oregon (sp) & would look nice "bare"
8. the ceilings are 12.5ft high - there is no air con so we would like to put some in

i think thats about it!!

on the plus side it has beautiful polished floors & coved ceilings - so its not all bad!!

the trouble is its quite a big list :eek: & we dont quite know where to start - we dont want to do start in the wrong place & end up having to do it again - but dont wanna waste our money on all the little jobs & have none left for the big ones

any help??

pootle26

also if anyone can point me in the direction as to paint colours for that time that would be fantastic - we wanna try & keep in in the same style

aabb
29th August 2005, 08:38 PM
Hi and welcome to the forum

Looks like you have a great project ahead of you - though well before end you will probably not be thinking that !