PDA

View Full Version : How to stop wide DAR boards from cupping?

DaveVman
10th October 2016, 10:32 PM
So a bought a 285mm wide x 19mm DAR clear pine board from Masters to do my first little project. Something the wife wanted. 285mm wide would be perfect.
I took it into the workshop and left it face down on the table for a week. All ready to work on the following weekend.
Came back to start on the project and the board is already warped!!
Cupped.

No doubt something about change in humidity/temperature that I barely understand and can't control.
So I've been using it as scrap to try out a few things since I'm learning.

However if I buy another board, I image that same thing will happen.
It looks like all that DAR stuff in big box stores, is all plain sawn, not quarter sawn. Although I'm no expert.
I don't have a jointer or a thicknesser.

I could hand plane it 'flatish', if I can figure a way to clamp it down - but the point of buying DAR was to not need to do that.

What is a bloke to do?

Kuffy
10th October 2016, 10:55 PM
No doubt something about change in humidity/temperature that I barely understand and can't control.

You kinda can control it. Leaving a board face down on a table for a week exposes one side of the board to the atmosphere while the face down side is relatively protected. So the exposed side will either take up moisture or release moisture at a different rate to the face down side. To prove the point quickly, leave a board face down for a while in the sun. The side which takes the beating by the sun will dry out and cause that face to shrink and become the concave face of a cupped board. which is exactly how you might be able to flatten your cupped board. place the board with the convex side facing the sun. watch it like a hawk because it rarely takes long.