PDA

View Full Version : Another call for advice re first lathe selection

Fryers
17th October 2016, 01:26 PM
Hi all those who know a little more and can advise,

I am new to wood turning, I picked it up in semi retirement as a suitable pursuit with my moderately arthritic fingers (more pain than restricted movement).
I am looking to purchase my first lathe and My budget is ~ $1,300.
I am interested in turning bowls and platters, up to ~ 350mm Dia.

Woodfast midi with EVS was recommended to me. Their new model is under the name Woodworking Solutions or EES 305 EVS replacing the Woodfast M305X with a price tag of $1250 + transport to Victoria.

I also looked at the Sherwood 550 x 320 with similar specs but with a 1HP motor (instead the woodfast 1/2HP) and a wider speed range 250 - 3850 (woodfast (500 - 2000rpm) and a price tag of $899.

and Hafco - Woodmaster W382 or WL-18 with swivel head, 1HP and 10 speeds 500 - 2000rpm. The Hafco includes a stand and costs $550.

Can anyone advise me?

Cheers,

Fryers

rtyuiop
17th October 2016, 02:22 PM
I don't have direct experience with any of those units, so can only offer some general advice.

The woodfast midi certainly has the reputation of being a good lathe, but I don't see anything on the woodfast site about being a new model... Is the EES maybe from a different manufacturer?

Be aware that while it's technically possible to turn a bowl that's right at the maximum swing of a lathe, it's much, much more convenient if the bowl clears the banjo (the bit that holds the tool rest on the lathe bed) - so a 350mm bowl/platter is easiest on either a lathe with lots of swing, a swivel or sliding headstock. Having said that... ~350mm diameter bowls are also pretty big!

Don't forget to budget a decent amount for turning tools and a chuck and a few jawsets.

Fryers
17th October 2016, 03:28 PM
Thanks for the prompt response and the advice. I'll certainly keep it mind.

hughie
17th October 2016, 05:45 PM