PDA

View Full Version : Help with lidded bowl please

Xanthorrhoeas
23rd October 2016, 06:09 PM
I am just starting out woodturning and have done an intro to bowls and platters course. Now, I would like to try something challenging and, some years ago I bought a beautiful bowl blank in fiddleback Tasmanian Blackwood. it is about 280 mm diameter and 70 mm thick. I have turned and part sanded the outside of the bowl and the dovetail to fit it to the chuck. That is when I realised that it would be a terrible waste if if I just turned the centre of this beautiful fiddleback into shavings. So, i thought - why not slice the top off (after smoothing of course) and keep it as a lid to show off the figure.

My question is how to do it? As you can see from the photos I have kept the outer wall of the bowl fairly steep so show off the figure. I am planning on finishing the sanding then taking the bowl off the face plate and putting it on the chuck. At that stage I thought, that after cleaning up the surface (currently rough and with wax on it) I could bring the live centre up to steady it and try to slice off about 8-10 mm to serve as a lid.

I am presuming i might use a parting tool to do this? I can see some issues in getting a lip on the lid to fit neatly inside the bowl (accurate measurement needed and no calipers owned yet!) i would appreciate any advice/suggestions.

powderpost
23rd October 2016, 07:00 PM
I would use a parting tool and cut in as far as is comfortable, then complete the cut with a hand saw. Not very technical I know, but it is a method I now use after getting into strife trying to turn the top off.

Jim

Big A
23rd October 2016, 07:51 PM
Grasstree,
(That is easier to type than Xan.......!)

How deep do the screws holding the faceplate go? That will complicate the issue for slicing off a bit for the lid - by the time you cut out the screw holes, will there be enough left for the lid? Or can you make a design feature of the four holes?