PDA

View Full Version : Red Cedar - is there

Goggomobile
3rd November 2016, 10:06 PM
Hi all,
This is my first time on this Forum I usually post on the turning ones.

I brought a whole stack of timber with some friends ... I usually turn so most of the timber I'll keep. However there is some large pieces of Red Cedar.

- 4off x 400 x 600 x 75
- date stamps 1998
- sawn, seasoned, with no knots ... very consistent.

Ive turned a few bits of red Cedar awhile ago and have found it to be fairly unexciting.

I guess it is really best used for furniture or panelling. I thought about making a dash board for one of my Goggomobil's ... might be a bit out there.

is there a market for this ?

Randal

Luke Maddux
4th November 2016, 06:47 AM
The pieces you have aren't particularly long, but they're nice and thick. This can be valuable for certain furniture parts. Unfortunately, 75mm stock is best suited for things like table legs, which typically are around 750mm in length. So what you have is definitely an "off size", but that by no means makes it unmarketable.

I would say that a fair price on the forums would be around $3500 - $4500 per cubic meter for that, particularly if it's a nice, dark, dense, tightly grained piece that's common to forest-grown, older cedar trees.

Good luck,
Luke

rtyuiop
4th November 2016, 09:45 AM
Even if it's a bit bland I reckon some other turners would be interested (heck, I would be if the price is right and it's fairly tight grained!) - 75mm thick is enough to get a decent size bowl, and it's also a decent size for cutting into either pepper grinders or even box making bits.

Robson Valley
5th November 2016, 04:55 AM
Which red cedar is this? The Australian hardwood or the western red cedar of the PacNW part of NAmerica?

Goggomobile
5th November 2016, 09:37 AM
Which ?

im no expert. Definely not western red Cedar ... I worked on some houses in the 80s with WRC